Father James Gray Academic Centre for Excellence

The Father James Gray Academic Centre for Excellence or ACE provides the support to help students succeed in their studies.  Sessions on topics such as essay writing, creative writing, research, exam-writing, time management, critical thinking and reading comprehension are offered.

The center is named after Father James Gray, OSB, a Benedictine priest, well known for his 38 years of teaching the virtue of excellence in all things through the study of English literature. Father James mentored writers, students, the novitiate, and others who sought his guidance.

Request Support

Feel free to fill out this form and get in touch with us about the supports you are looking for - Support Request Form

Academic Support Sessions

Register for your ACE session here

All sessions are located at the Academic Centre for Excellence in the Library from 12:15pm-1:00pm, unless otherwise stated.

Session 1.1: University: What to Expect

Wednesday, September 12th

Session 1.2:  Note-Taking

Tuesday, September 19th

Session 1.3:  Reading to Remember

Wednesday, September 26th

Academic Coaches

blanghorst

Barbara Langhorst

English (Literature and Composition), Writing
langhorstb@stpeters.sk.ca
Maury Picture

Maury Wrubleski

English as an Additional Language, Writing
Alison

Alison Hinz

Time management, Study skills, Learning styles 

Faculty Drop-In Hours

Faculty offer free tutoring by discipline during their drop in hours or by appointment. Tutoring may be done in person or by phone, SKYPE, or email. If you are unable to meet with your professor during the below time, contact them to arrange another time to meet. 

Instrutors Courses Office Hours Email
Allan Casey English Saturday classes are held caseya@stpeters.sk.ca
Allan Safarik English Mondays 6:00-7:00 p.m. safarika@stpeters.sk.ca
Amir Farhani Physics Thursdays 3:00-4:00 p.m. - Rm. 206 amirdf@gmail.com
Anna Szmigielski Chemistry Lecture Mondays 3:40-4:40 p.m. szmigielskia@stpeters.sk.ca
Barbara Langhorst English

Mon., Tues., or Wed 1:30-4:30 p.m. or by appointment.

In ACE (Back of the library)

langhorstb@stpeters.sk.ca
Clint Hunker Painting Saturdays classes are held noon-1:00 p.m. or by appointment. hunkerc@stpeters.sk.ca
Dee Hobsbawn-Smith English Wednesday 11:00-12:00, 1:00-3:00, please email for appoinments. dfh077@mail.usask.ca
Elaine Hulse

Sociology, and Indigenous Studies

Wed. noon-1:00 p.m.; Fri. noon-1:00 p.m. hulsee@stpeters.sk.ca
Erin Holm

Commerce

Mondays 6:00-7:00 p.m., please make appointments. erin.holm@usask.ca
Glyn Kennell General Engineering Fridays 4:00-5:00 p.m. gfk328@mail.usask.ca
Grant McConnell Drawing Thursdays 12:00-1:00 p.m. mcconnellg@stpeters.sk.ca
Joy Agnew General Engineering Thursdays 4:00-5:00 p.m. (Room 310) joy.agnew@usask.ca
Julie Roy  Cree Thursdays 6:30-7:00 p.m. or by appointment j.roy@usask.ca
Kim Cross Biology Tues. 12:00-1:00 p.m. & 4:00-5:00 p.m.; Fridays noon-1:00 p.m. crossk@stpeters.sk.ca
Br. Kurt Van Kuren Psychology Wednesdays 4:00-5:00 p.m. (ACE, back of the library) kuv753@mail.usask.ca
Mojtaba Biniaz (Moji) Chemistry Lab Wednesdays 10:00-12:00 p.m.  mob194@maul.usask.ca
Nancy Lee Economics Thursdays 3:00-4:00 p.m. nancy_n_lee@hotmail.com
Osama Bataineh Math and Statistics Mon. 2:00-4:00 p.m. and Wed. 11:00 a.m.-1:00 p.m. osb907@mail.usask.ca
Raymond Khan Commerce Thursdays 6:00-7:00 p.m. raymond.khan@usask.ca
Shannon Forrester Kinesiology Thursday 3:00-4:00 p.m. shannon.forrester@usask.ca
Stavros Stavrou Math 102 Tuesdays 8:30-9:30 p.m. sgs715@mail.usask.ca