Father James Gray Academic Centre for Excellence

The Father James Gray Academic Centre for Excellence or ACE provides the support to help students succeed in their studies.  Sessions on topics such as essay writing, creative writing, research, exam-writing, time management, critical thinking and reading comprehension are offered.

The center is named after Father James Gray, OSB, a Benedictine priest, well known for his 38 years of teaching the virtue of excellence in all things through the study of English literature. Father James mentored writers, students, the novitiate, and others who sought his guidance.

Request Support

Feel free to fill out this form and get in touch with us about the supports you are looking for - Support Request Form

Register for your ACE session here

Upcoming Sessions:

All sessions are located in the Library from 12:15pm-1:00pm, unless otherwise stated

Session 1: Lessons Learned with Dr. Barbara Langhorst and Andrew Hartman

Wednesday, January 11th

Thursday, January 12th

Session 2:  Technology and Learning with Andrew Hartman

Tuesday, January 17th

Wednesday, January 18th

Session 3:  How To Learn Math (Lawrence Chang and Derek Postnikoff)

Tuesday, January 24th
12:15-12:55
Rm. 310

Wednesday, January 25th
6:00-6:45
Library

Session 4:  Understanding the Teaching and Learning Process in University (Part 1) with Andrew Hartman

Tuesday, January 31st

Wednesday, February 1st

Session 5:  Making the Learning Process Work For You (Part 2) with Andrew Hartman

Tuesday, February 7th

Wednesday, February 8th

Session 6:  Grammar Intervention Part 1 with Maury Wrubleski

Tuesday, February 14th

Wednesday, February 15th

Session 7:  How to Revise a paper with Dr. Barbara Langhorst

Tuesday, February 28th

Wednesday, March 1st

Session 8:  Grammar Intervention Part 2 with Maury Wrubleski

Thursday, March 2nd

Friday, March 3rd

Session 9:  Referencing your Research Paper with Brenda McNabb

Tuesday, March 7th

Wednesday, March 8th

Session 10: Prepare for Finals with Dr. Barbara Langhorst

Tuesday, March 28th

Wednesday, March 29th

Session 11: Jeopardy Study Sessions (All Diciplines) with Andrew Hartman

Tuesday, April 4th

Wednesday, April 5th

Academic Coaches

blanghorst

Barbara Langhorst

English (Literature and Composition), Writing
langhorstb@stpeters.sk.ca
Maury

Maury Wrubleski

English as an Additional Language, Writing
blank

Andrew Hartman

Time management, Study skills, Learning styles 
brenda

Brenda McNabb

Library/online research skills, documentation

Faculty offer free tutoring by discipline during their drop in hours or by appointment. Tutoring may be done in person or by phone, SKYPE, or email. If you are unable to meet with your professor during the below time, contact them to arrange another time to meet. 

Instrutors Courses Office Hours Email
Allan Safarik English Mondays 5:00-7:00 p.m. safarika@stpeters.sk.ca
Allison Field Commerce Tuesdays 3:00-4:00 p.m. allison.field@usask.ca
Amir Farhani Physics Thursdays 3:00-4:00 p.m. - Rm. 206 amirdf@gmail.com
Angus Ferguson Drama Fridays 11:50-12:50 p.m. fergusona@stpeters.sk.ca
Anna Szmigielski Chemistry Lecture Mondays 3:50-4:50 p.m. szmigielskia@stpeters.sk.ca
Barbara Langhorst English

M 1:30-3:00 p.m.; T 10:00-noon & 1:15-4:30 p.m.;
and W 1:15-4:30p.m.

langhorstb@stpeters.sk.ca
Clay Burlingham History Term 2 burlinghamc@stpeters.sk.ca
Clint Hunker Painting Alterrnating Saturdays noon-1:00 p.m. hunkerc@stpeters.sk.ca
Derek Postniokff Math and Philosophy Tuesdays 4:00-5:00 p.m. postnikoffd@stpeters.sk.ca
Elaine Hulse

Sociology, Indigenous Studies, and Commerce

Tuesdays 6:00-7:00pm; Fridays noon-1:00 pm hulsee@stpeters.sk.ca
Glyn Kennell General Engineering Fridays 4:00-5:00 p.m. gfk328@mail.usask.ca
Grant McConnell Drawing Thursdays 12:00-1:00 p.m. mcconnellg@stpeters.sk.ca
Joy Agnew General Engineering Thursdays 4:00-5:00 p.m. joy.agnew@usask.ca
Julie Roy  Cree Thursdays 6:30-7:00 p.m. or by appointment j.roy@usask.ca
Kim Cross Biology Tuesdays noon-1:00 p.m.; Fridays noon-1:00 p.m. crossk@stpeters.sk.ca
Br. Kurt Van Kuren Psychology Wednesdays 10:00-noon kuv753@mail.usask.ca
Lawrence Chang Math and Stats Mondays 2:00-4:00 p.m. changl@stpeters.sk.ca
Leysa Sabada Religious Studies Mondays 5:30-7:00 p.m. l.sabada@usask.ca
Mojtaba Biniaz (Moji) Chemistry Lab Tuesdays 10:00-noon  mob194@maul.usask.ca
Nancy Lee Economics Thursdays 3:00-4:00 p.m. nancy_n_lee@hotmail.com
Rob Harasymchuk Commerce Mondays 5:00-7:00 p.m. - President Office, 2nd Floor harasymchuk@stpeters.sk.ca
Shannon Forrester Kinesiology Thursday 3:00-4:00 p.m. shannon.forrester@usask.ca