Father James Gray Academic Centre for Excellence

The Father James Gray Academic Centre for Excellence or ACE provides the support to help students succeed in their studies.  Sessions on topics such as essay writing, creative writing, research, exam-writing, time management, critical thinking and reading comprehension are offered.

The center is named after Father James Gray, OSB, a Benedictine priest, well known for his 38 years of teaching the virtue of excellence in all things through the study of English literature. Father James mentored writers, students, the novitiate, and others who sought his guidance.

Request Support

Feel free to fill out this form and get in touch with us about the supports you are looking for - Support Request Form

Academic Support Sessions

Register for your ACE session here

All sessions are located at the Academic Centre for Excellence in the Library from 12:15pm-1:00pm, unless otherwise stated.

Session 1.1: How to read your syllabus.

Wednesday, September 6th

Thursday, September 7th

Session 1.2:  What to expect in university; what to do if you have difficulty; and time management.

Tuesday, September 12th

Wednesday, September 13th

Session 1.3:  Note-taking, critical reading/reading to remember (study skills).

Tuesday, September 19th

Wednesday, September 20th

Session 1.4:  Exam writing (multiple choice, short answer, true-false, science/math exams, essay questions, open book).

Tuesday, September 26th

Wednesday, September 27th

Session 1.45:  Mental Health and Well-Being.

Friday, Sepeember 29th 

Session 1.5:  Introduction to research and documentation.

Tuesday, October 3rd

Wednesday, October 4th

Session 1.6:  Introduction to writing essays.

Tuesday, October 10th

Wednesday, October 11th

Session 1.7: Math Help - How To Learn Math.

Tuesday, October 17th

Wednesday, October 18th

Session 1.9:  Essay writing Part II (Bring works in progress).

Tuesday, October 31st

Wednesday, November 1st

Session 1.10: Honey, I shurnk my grades: Bouncing back from your midterms and essays.

Tuesday, November 7th

Wednesday, November 8th

Session 1.11: Time Management Planning for Finals

Tuesday, November 21st

Wednesday, November 22nd

Session 1.12: Jeopardy Study Sessions (All Diciplines)

Tuesday, November 28th

Wednesday, November 29th

All sessions are located at the Academic Centre for Excellence in the Library from 12:15pm-1:00pm, unless otherwise stated.

Session 2.1: New Beginnings: Starting Fresh.

Tuesday, January 9th

Wednesday, January 10th

Session 2.2:  Technology and Learning.

Tuesday, January 16th

Wednesday, January 17th

Session 2.3:  How To Learn Math

Tuesday, January 23rd
12:15-12:55
Rm. 310

Wednesday, January 24th
6:00-6:45
Library

Session 2.4:  Research Essay Tricks.

Tuesday, January 30th

Wednesday, January 31st

Session 2.5:  Your Role In Learning.

Tuesday, February 6th

Wednesday, February 7th

Session 2.6:  Grammar Intervention. 

Tuesday, February 13th

Wednesday, February 14th

Session 2.7:  Exam Stategies.

Tuesday, February 27th

Wednesday, February 28th

Session 2.8:  Referencing Your Research Paper.

Tuesday, March 6th

Wednesday, March 7th

Session 2.9:  Preparing for Science Exams.

Tuesday, March 13th

Wednesday, March 14th

Session 2.10: Preparing for Finals. 

Tuesday, March 20th

Wednesday, March 21st

Session 2.11: Jeopardy Study Sessions (All Diciplines)

Tuesday, March 27th

Wednesday, March 28th

Academic Coaches

blanghorst

Barbara Langhorst

English (Literature and Composition), Writing
langhorstb@stpeters.sk.ca
Maury

Maury Wrubleski

English as an Additional Language, Writing
blank

Andrew Hartman

Time management, Study skills, Learning styles 
brenda

Brenda McNabb

Library/online research skills, documentation

Faculty Drop-In Hours

Faculty offer free tutoring by discipline during their drop in hours or by appointment. Tutoring may be done in person or by phone, SKYPE, or email. If you are unable to meet with your professor during the below time, contact them to arrange another time to meet. 

Instrutors Courses Office Hours Email
Allan Safarik English Mondays 5:00-7:00 p.m. safarika@stpeters.sk.ca
Allison Field Commerce Tuesdays 3:00-4:00 p.m. allison.field@usask.ca
Amir Farhani Physics Thursdays 3:00-4:00 p.m. - Rm. 206 amirdf@gmail.com
Angus Ferguson Drama Fridays 11:50-12:50 p.m. fergusona@stpeters.sk.ca
Anna Szmigielski Chemistry Lecture Mondays 3:50-4:50 p.m. szmigielskia@stpeters.sk.ca
Barbara Langhorst English

M 1:30-3:00 p.m.; T 10:00-noon & 1:15-4:30 p.m.;
and W 1:15-4:30p.m.

langhorstb@stpeters.sk.ca
Clay Burlingham History Term 2 burlinghamc@stpeters.sk.ca
Clint Hunker Painting Alterrnating Saturdays noon-1:00 p.m. hunkerc@stpeters.sk.ca
Derek Postniokff Math and Philosophy Tuesdays 4:00-5:00 p.m. postnikoffd@stpeters.sk.ca
Elaine Hulse

Sociology, Indigenous Studies, and Commerce

Tuesdays 6:00-7:00pm; Fridays noon-1:00 pm hulsee@stpeters.sk.ca
Glyn Kennell General Engineering Fridays 4:00-5:00 p.m. gfk328@mail.usask.ca
Grant McConnell Drawing Thursdays 12:00-1:00 p.m. mcconnellg@stpeters.sk.ca
Joy Agnew General Engineering Thursdays 4:00-5:00 p.m. joy.agnew@usask.ca
Julie Roy  Cree Thursdays 6:30-7:00 p.m. or by appointment j.roy@usask.ca
Kim Cross Biology Tuesdays noon-1:00 p.m.; Fridays noon-1:00 p.m. crossk@stpeters.sk.ca
Br. Kurt Van Kuren Psychology Wednesdays 10:00-noon kuv753@mail.usask.ca
Lawrence Chang Math and Stats Mondays 2:00-4:00 p.m. changl@stpeters.sk.ca
Leysa Sabada Religious Studies Mondays 5:30-7:00 p.m. l.sabada@usask.ca
Mojtaba Biniaz (Moji) Chemistry Lab Tuesdays 10:00-noon  mob194@maul.usask.ca
Nancy Lee Economics Thursdays 3:00-4:00 p.m. nancy_n_lee@hotmail.com
Rob Harasymchuk Commerce Mondays 5:00-7:00 p.m. - President Office, 2nd Floor harasymchuk@stpeters.sk.ca
Shannon Forrester Kinesiology Thursday 3:00-4:00 p.m. shannon.forrester@usask.ca